Skip to content

50th Post – Celebration and Eating My Own Dog Food

February 26, 2010


With today’s post, I have reached another milestone in what I hope will be a continuous stream of milestones. This is my 50th post to the blog. Since it is a special occasion, I want to take time to review the journey, do lessons learned and set goals for going forward. I often refer to practicing what I preach as “eating my own dog food”. “A good example is the best advice”.

Let’s get down to business. In general, creating and maintaining this blog has been a fabulous experience. I believe I have added value to my students’ experience by giving them additional educational resources. I have deepened my knowledge of the subject matter. Teaching is the best way to learn and reinforce your own knowledge. If you can discuss a subject, respond to questions, see the 360 perspective of the information, you take your understanding of the subject to a different level.

My students have responded favorably to the blog. It provides them with easy-to-access resources, overviews of the classes and additional information about topics we discuss in class.

The two major challenges that I have faced with the blog so far are learning and understanding blogging and the technology, and coming up with content. Like writing a journal, it is difficult to discipline yourself to write every day. Since I am also a student, the daily discipline of writing has improved my ability to develop and contribute content. Between the blog, my teaching and MBA classes, I have never written so much in my life. Sometimes the well goes dry. Whenever a topic comes to mind, I create a draft post. If I have enough inertia at the time, I will finish the post and publish it. If not, it stays in the drafts until I can build out the content.

I have added the blog address to my email signature and intend to add it to other items over time. I have deliberately not publicized the blog outside of my circle of friends, family and colleagues, so that I had time to let it develop organically and establish a good solid foundation of content.

Goals Going Forward – Next Milestone – 100th Post

  1. Post meaningful, relevant content on a daily basis.
  2. Increase my daily hit rate by 25%
  3. Expand the functionality of the blog
  4. Create relationships with other bloggers of related material
  5. Keep learning and having fun

To my students and readers, I want to thank you for your support and encouragement. Please make comments when it feels right – it helps to have audience feedback. If there is content you want to see here, let me know. I want the blog to reflect the needs of my students and readers.   If you want to be notified about updates to the blog, I recommend following the blog on twitter @pmessentials or via email by the form at the upper right-hand corner of the page. I thank you for being in my life. I am better for it. Hope you are too!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 5:56 pm

    Congratulations on THE NUMBER 50TH POST!! I’m a newbie to your blog, yet really enjoy it and can’t wait to read more and more. Your writing is readable and understandable. That’s what I like about it. AND I’m learning about PM and also what it takes to be a blogger, or blogette. I am now thinking about a baguette., which is a bit chewy, so that’s a good thing 🙂
    Thanks for sharing, teaching, and welcoming newbies.

    Best for the next 50, 150, 2500….

    Julie

  2. March 29, 2010 2:22 am

    i easily enjoy your own writing style, very unique.
    don’t quit and keep posting considering the fact that it simply just worth to look through it.
    excited to look over much of your content pieces, have a good day 🙂

    • March 30, 2010 4:54 pm

      Thanks for your feedback. Always good to hear that people are getting value from the blog.

Leave a Reply

