Skip to content

No “Paper” PMPs/CAPMs On My Watch!

February 27, 2010

I would like to congratulate the first of our students (that I am aware of) that has successfully passed the PMP exam.  I welcome Jim warmly into the fold.  He has incredible credentials  and has done his due diligence to become a Project Management Professional.  He will make us proud and reflect positively on the profession, and that is what the Project Management Professional (PMP) certification is all about.

While I would like everyone that I teach to achieve their Project Management Professional (PMP) or Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) designation, I know that a candidate must really want the certification.  More than wanting the certification, I want candidates to want and need to be the best project managers they can possibly be.

The best PMPs and CAPMs are those that are life-long learners.  They understand that certification is not an end but a milestone on the journey of Project Management.  They are proud of their profession and they constantly pursue excellence.  They become active in their professional community and they give back to the profession.

When you present yourself to the world as a PMP or CAPM, you not only represent yourself but you represent  the Professional Project Management community as a whole.  You represent me and 300K plus individuals around the world who have attained this achievement.  You should be able to demonstrate hands-on competence as well as understanding of theory.

It saddens me when people tell me stories of “Paper” PMPs/CAPMs, who have achieved the certification without the requisite skills and understanding that Project Management Professionals must have.  They reflect badly on all of us and that is unfortunate.  All organizations that strive for professional recognition struggle with how to credential their members.  PMI requires  levels of education, training and experience that should screen out those  who are not committed.  As with every profession,  not everyone takes their professional responsibilities as seriously as they should.

I am proud of my professional credentials and strive to learn and grow everyday.  I expect you to do the same.  The PMI certifications bring value to the certified, the organizations they work for and all of the stakeholders involved.  I am not teaching you how to pass a test.  I am teaching  you how to be the best Project Manager you can possibly be.  There will be no “paper” PMPs/CAPMs on my watch!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

