Skip to content

Social Media/Networking – WIIIFM?

March 11, 2010

I have been using social media/networking for several years now.  I started with a presence on LinkedIn.  Last year  I started using Facebook and Twitter, for both personal and professional purposes.  There are hundreds of different social media or social networking sites out there. My first question about Social Media/Networking was “What is in it for me”? (WIIIFM)

I have been using the internet since the early days of Prodigy, so I have seen many trends come and go. My experience in Security and Compliance has taught me to be very cautious of giving out personal information online.  The internet has an infinite memory.  Nothing disappears.  Social Media/Networking truly moves at the speed of light.  Events in the news show up in Social Media before traditional sources even know about them.

I use LinkedIn, Twitter and Facebook to pull information.  On LinkedIn, I have joined groups that I am either already a member of or that interest me.  The regular updates keep me current on the activities of those groups.

With Twitter I do a similar thing.  I “follow” the groups and organizations that interest me.  I do not have to search for information, it comes to me.  I actually have 2 Twitter accounts – one personal and one professional.  The professional account connects to this blog.  Every time I update the blog, an update goes out to that account – PMessentials.

Facebook is my playground.  I am very picky about who I “friend” on Facebook.  In my mind, Facebook has the largest potential for damage.  It amazes me what people post to Facebook.  I keep my account locked down tightly, limiting access to my information to friends only.  For those of you with children, I caution you to keep a close eye on what you children and their friends are posting.  You should also check to make sure their accounts are tightly locked down.

I have given you my opinion.  I believe that social media/networking are very effective tools when used properly.  A question to ask yourself before posting any information about yourself on the internet, “How would I feel if this was posted on a billboard in my hometown?”  The internet is a billboard to the world, use common sense and caution.

Are you using Social Media/Networking?  If so, what are you using?  How do you like it?

Resources:

A Comparison of Social Media Tools

Comparison of Twitter and Facebook from a marketing perspective

Social Media Landscape

Social Networks and Kids: How Young is Too Young?

When Social Media Bites

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie Baker permalink
    March 17, 2010 10:39 pm

    I especially like your comparison of the social networks being a billboard to the world. I wish I could get my 18 and 20 year old cousins to realize this! I am concerned about my daughter having a FB account. I monitor it and “police” it, explaining to her why she needs to take something down. Am I missing something with Twitter? I don’t quite “get it?” Maybe I don’t have interesting enough people to follow!

Trackbacks

  1. A Good Discussion of Social Media and What’s in it for you « Paralegal Essentials
  2. Social Media/Networking – WIIIFM? « Project Management Essentials | NetworksLinks

Leave a Reply

