Skip to content

“Project Manager Manage Thyself” – Part 1

April 11, 2010

Tis the season! It is spring and there are days of sunshine. Sunny days are limited resource here in the Pacific Northwest and must be used wisely. I have many items on my to-do list and realize that I need to “eat the dog food” and handle some of these items like projects.

I must confess that I am a novice in the home improvement arena. I have friends who paint and refinish their homes and furniture all the time. Alas, I have never been bitten by that bug. I have made clumsy attempts at starting – buying paint brushes, looking at swatches, etc. This year I am going to teach myself how to improve my home and to put my money where my mouth is, I am going to treat it like a project and I am going to regularly update you on my progress. How’s that for bravery?

As with any project, I need to sit down and sift through my requirements and determine what I want the final outcome to be. I need to look at my available budget and start pricing the items I will need. I need to research how to successfully do the things I want to do. Most importantly I need to prioritize what I want to do and develop a plan.

So as I would ask on any other project, “what are my next steps”? I would say that I need to make a list of all the things I want to do to the house and prioritize them. My prioritization criteria at this point are what will give me the most bang for my buck or what activities have the highest ROI? I will have to evaluate the list based on cost, time, skill required. I will plan to give you an update next Sunday. I encourage your feedback and helpful hints as I go through this process.

“Project Manager Manage Thyself” – Part 2

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

