Skip to content

Happy Social Media Day – June 30th

June 30, 2011
Infographic on how Social Media are being used...

Image via Wikipedia

I must confess, I am a bit late to this parade.  I just found out today is Social Media day.  As a Project Manager, I consider Social Media and technology, additional tools in the toolbox.  While neither is a replacement for sound Project Management, both can streamline processes, reduce error and improve productivity.

As an Instructor, I incorporate Social Media into my classes via this blog and encouraging students to get connected via LinkedIn.  There are varying levels of acceptance and usage among the students, but I do not feel that I am doing my due diligence by not exposing students to the application of Social Media as part of their professional development.

SOCIAL MEDIA IS NOT GOING AWAY.  Those who opt not to use Social Media or dismiss it as a fad, do so at their professional peril and are missing out on information, relationships and useful tools.   Social Media can be overwhelming, but I recommend that everyone get their toe in the water and start using at least one of the Social Media sites.  I usually recommend LinkedIn, since it seems more secure and oriented toward professional networking.

In honor of Social Media day, I thought I might offer a few links to information about social media.

The History and Evolution of Social Media

The History of Social Media (Infographic)

Social Media Primer

Social Media (Part 1):  What is this “Fire” of Which You Speak?

Social Media Primer (Part 2): The Juggernaut is Bigger than You Think!

Leave a Reply

