Skip to content

Note to the Project Risk Management Essentials Class – Link to Article

August 23, 2011

I try to stay politically and socially neutral in this blog.  Tonight I shared an example of predictive metrics with my Project Risk Management Essentials class tonight regarding the correlation of third-graders’ reading scores and socio-economic level and their future outcome.  The findings in this and related studies are very disturbing to me.  The link to the paper by Donald J. Hernandez is Double Jeopardy: How Third-Grade Reading Skills and Poverty Influence High School Graduation.  I thought my students might want to read the paper.

If we can diagnose the problem by the time a child is 8 years old, why can’t we resolve the problem before they turn 18?  Please note I am assigning no blame, just looking for resolution.  Prevention is always less expensive than a cure.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

